Compassion

Here are some videos from Al Jazeera about a couple of humanitarian crisis’ that are happening right now.

I’m willing to bet that a majority of people in America don’t even know this stuff is happening. And for those of us who do know about it, why aren’t we doing anything to stop it. These people are screaming for our help!

How can we watch this and then turn away and go about our lives as if we don’t even know that people are suffering. Especially those of us who claim to follow Jesus! Why are we sitting and watching? Why aren’t we doing? Why aren’t we helping?

I think, possibly, we’ve forgotten compassion.

The definition of the word compassion is a feeling of deep sympathy and sorrow for another who is stricken by misfortune, accompanied by a strong desire to alleviate the suffering.

I think we’ve got the first part down pretty good. We feel for people. But, we’ve forgotten the last part “accompanied by a strong desire to alleviate the suffering”.

Sometimes I’m so caught up in myself I don’t care at all about others. I want that to change. God, I need your help. I need your compassion.

Leave a Reply

