A Weird Kind Of Confidence

basketball

Yesterday, if someone were to have asked me how I would feel after a big loss in the first basketball game of the season, confident would not have even crossed my mind. Dissapointed, crappy, pissed, those are most likely some of the words that would have come out of my mouth. And yet, after that big loss, tonight, I feel very confident.

We started the game off really, really, extremely flat. They used a full court press right away and we didn’t know how to handle it. We panicked, turned the ball over numerous times and got out-hustled. I had no confidence in my game. Because of that, I didn’t play hard. I got mad at the refs and the other team instead of focusing on my assignments.

About midway through the game, I began to realize my shortcomings and my potential (I didn’t quite grasp it all until after the game). I realized I could go up as high as anyone out there. I realized I was rushing everything. I realized I could take the ball the length of the court and they couldn’t stop me. I realized I was beating myself. I realized I shouldn’t be getting mad at anyone else but that I should trust God and let Him cool me down.

After the game I felt kind of weird. I had just played one of the worst games of my basketball career, in my oppinion. But I felt weirdly confident. I, with the help of my Dad’s insight, was able to pinpoint where I went wrong. It started with my attitude. I blamed everyone else for my faults and got really mad. I wasn’t exactly a shining light if you know what I mean. From there, the list is long but the good thing is I know what’s on it and I can fix each thing.

Hear is my prayer for the rest of the season.

Dear Father, 

Let me win. But if I cannot win, let me be brave in the attempt. No matter the outcome, let me trust and honor You with my actions and words. Let me put others above me and please let me compete to the fullest of the talent You’ve given me. Please do not let me do any of this if it is not what You want. But if it is your will, please allow me to do these things. Please humble me!

Leave a Reply

