Listening To The Silence

I’m slowly starting to realize how much I listen to music and how much I don’t read the bible. I’m not saying that music is a bad thing. In fact, it can be quite amazing. The problem is that I listen to music all the time. I listen to music when I’m happy. I listen to music when I’m sad and I need a pick-me-up. I listen to it when I’m lonely and when I’m bored and when I’m busy and when I do homework and even when I sleep. I love music but it seems to be drowning out other important things in my life… like God.

So I’ve decided to stop listening to music when I’m alone (I’ll still listen to music with other people, like in the car, etc…). I figure that’s a lot of my time that I can devote to listening to God in silence. I can read the bible instead of listening to a good song when I’m feeling down. I think it will be easier to hear God when it’s quiet rather than when there are symbols clashing in the background.

I’m really excited to see what God will do through this experiment. I don’t know how long this will last but it will be a pretty significant amount of time. This is gonna be sweet!

silence

5 responses to “Listening To The Silence

  1. Thats actually a pretty good idea bro.
    The way to find god is within yourself. listening to silence is a great way because through silence is what allows there to be sound, through space is what allows there to be physical forms. The closest we can identify god is that god is silence and space, from what everything is created in and exists in.

    Listening to the external silence, don’t listen to the dogs barking or the birds chirping but the silence from which the sound originates and dies, FEEL the silence, because that very silence is within us also.
    Try it bro, its a form of meditation – extremely effective stuff.

    Great blog by the way.

  2. Hey!
    This is awesome! About 2 years ago I felt the same way, that I filled my life with noise (Even though it was good Christian music) and I needed the SILENCE with God! I Pray this goes well and deepens your relationship with HIM.

  3. beautiful…is the only word that came to me…was searching for a pic for my post on silence and found a pic…clicked on the link and landed here…divine timing…keep writing…with you

    mystic

  4. sanjay azal chauhn

    i think life’s first, most persistent urgent question is what are you doing for yourself…

  5. John Burnett

    So, .. what has happened with your silence experment? Sounds like you are on the verge of discovering what Contemplative Christianity is all about. Being a Benedictine Oblate with a fair amount of experience in “solitude & silence” let me encourage you to pursue God relentlessly, .. He’s waiting to be found.

    Et Inclina Aurem Cordis Tui
    John B. Obl OSB

Leave a Reply

