Can’t Wait (It’s Gonna Be Awesome!)

The cast list for The Music Man was released Friday. I didn’t get Tommy, which is fine by me. I’m actually more pleased with the role I got than if I would’ve gotten the role I wanted. I’m gonna be one of the salesman in the opening Rock Island scene. It’s gonna be one of the more difficult scenes to do on stage so I’m really excited to be a part of it. Also, I get to sing and dance in almost all of the musical numbers, something I would not have been able to do as Tommy.

I’m not bitter or mad because I didn’t get the part I wanted. In fact, I’m surprisingly happy. However, some people have been brought to uncontrollable tears and have made accusations that are kind of ridiculous because of certain choices for certain roles. It’s not that I don’t feel for these people, I do. And it’s not that I agree with all of the picks, I don’t. But no matter what role you’re given, you gotta do the best you can with it. Whatever you get, knock it out of the water! Blow it out of the park! You gotta make people remember you for the role you were given.

I love theater because it creates an awesome little community where the success of the show depends on everyone involved. It requires big roles and small roles and each has to be equally spectacular for the show to be great. I am so excited to be a part of this and to be a leader on the set! This is gonna be awesome!

Here’s the Rock Island scene from the movie.

Leave a Reply

