A Great Week With Uncle Mitch

Last week, my parents went up north to Flagstaff to be alone for a little while and Uncle Mitch came all the way over from Washington D.C. to hang out with us kids. We had a blast.

We went to a pre-screening of Bedtime Stories which, ironically, is about a guy watching over his niece and nephew. It was pretty funny, especially the British dude. We made Christmas cookies with tons of icing. We ate lots and lots of pizza. We did some shopping, the girls had fun, the guys got tired really quickly. We searched and searched for a Del Taco to no avail. We hit some golf balls at the driving range. We told funny stories about each other. We wrestled on the trampoline. All in all, we had a great time! Thanks so much Uncle Mitch for being awesome and taking some time to come all the way over here and hang out with us.

dsc03249

Over the last week, I also gained a greater respect for my parents job. I had a bigger leadership role with my siblings, or perhaps I was just made more aware of it. Either way, I saw how selfish and argumenative we can be at times and found myself impatient with my siblings because of their shortcomings. I then realized that I often get mad at my dad because he is sometimes impatient when I am lazy. I think God was trying to tell me something. So here’s to you Mom and Dad, thank you so much for what you do, I realize how hard your job is and you both are exceptional at it. I am so thankful for your love and I’m glad you’re back!

Leave a Reply

