My Valentine’s Day

Yesterday was great. I woke up at 7:30am and headed to play practice with the fam (all 6 of us kids are in the Music Man at school). Practice went expecially well; best one so far. Afterwords, my dad took me and my sisters, Esther and Juli, to a couple thrift stores. Thrift stores are by far my favorite kind of store. I got some unblemished black and silver Nike Free’s for like $5. That does not happen anywhere else on this planet. Go thrift stores. Upon arrival at home, I slept for about 20 minutes and then picked up my sister, Jessi, from church. Once back home, my parents left for their big date. I planned on staying home and resting (I did not get much sleep last week bec- My computer just shut off randomly and I was worried because I did not save this draft. Luckily it saved. I guess God is just trying to show me how silly it is to worry. No matter the circumstance, big or small, everthing is in His hands. -ause I was finishing some big school projects and studying for many tests) but a phone call spoiled that plan. My friend, Seth, called to invite me and my brother, Dean, to hang at his house and watch the Slam Dunk Contest. We did and we had an absolute blast. The competition itself was a little disappointing but the fellowship of being with friends was great. After the Dunk viewing, we watched a Youtube video called Stoned Kid at the Dentist. I have never ever laughed so hard in my life. I sinserely mean that. I cried so much my face was drenched with tears and I drooled all over the floor. I don’t know what came over me but it hit us all. It was just an uncontrollably joyous moment. I will never forget it. After that, we went home and I watched Traitor, starring Don Cheadle, with my parents. I really enjoyed it. It’s not a feel-good movie by any means but its subject matter, Islamic-extremism, is one that is very relevent in our world and interests me a great deal. That, as well as the fact that Don Cheadle is a great actor, made the movie very compelling for my eyes. After the movie I went to bed. It was a wonderful day and I am very thankful for it.

Here’s the video we watched (Thank you so much Matt for suggesting it). If you’re alone, go get whoever’s around to come watch it with you. It’s hilarious. This version has the slow-mo ending.

Leave a Reply

