Not So Far Away… Anymore

In less than a week I will be in Rwanda. Holy cow! This last week I’ve barely had time to think about it; I’ve been so busy. I honestly have no idea what to expect. This will be my third trip to a foreign country with the same basic group of people. Every time, though, it’s completely different. China, Guatemala, and now Rwanda: It’s always an adventure.

There are a few things that I can be sure of. 1) It’ll be fun. K-Colorado people know how to have a good time while honoring God. I think the key to this is how positive everyone is towards each other. Encouragement is second-nature on these trips. 2) It’ll be educational. I mean this in the most exciting, enriching way possible. I’m gonna learn so much on this trip. I’ll learn about the country and the people in an up close and personal way. I’ll see and be moved by their troubles. I have a feeling I’ll be amazed by their attitudes. I’ll also learn things about my Father that never even crossed my mind before. The way He moves and works. 3) It’ll be deep. K-Colorado is all about being real. This concept is on full display on these trips. By being real and opening up and sharing with everyone else the struggles and blessings in our lives, we grow as a community. We become the potent body of Christ. 4) We will serve. One of the biggest reasons we go on these trips is to serve others in a way that doesn’t happen everyday. We will serve in an orphanage, in the villages, at the new KAAC-R campground, and in whatever else springs up. 5) We will be used. God has a way of using His followers in ways they can’t imagine. Are plans are piddly-diddly compared to His. He will use us in ways we haven’t foreseen. It’s really cool when He does that. I can’t wait to be a part of what He’s gonna do.

About a week ago someone asked me where Rwanda was and I wasn’t exactly sure so I’m gonna go do some basic research now. I don’t know whether or not I will post again before the trip. I’ll be pretty busy with school, sports, and getting ready to go. I’m not sure if I’ll be able to post when I’m there either. I’ll try to at least once or twice but no promises. In the meantime, it’d be great if you could pray that God would use us according to His perfect will.

rwanda1

We will be smack-dab in the middle, in the capital, Kigali.

 

Leave a Reply

